AHSAA announces rosters for North-South All-Star basketball teams

Rosters for the 2022 AHSAA North-South All-Star Girls ‘and Boys’ Basketball Games were announced on Tuesday by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

The basketball games will be played as part of the All-Star Week in Montgomery in conjunction with the AHSAA Summer Conference set for July 18-22. All-star games will also be played in baseball, softball, volleyball, soccer, cross country, tennis and golf. The football All-Star game was played in December in Mobile.

Coaches for the North girls’ basketball team are Natasha Smallwood, Susan Moore; Melissa Bennett, Oxford; and Brant Llewellyn, Lauderdale County, who will be the administrative coach for both North squads. The South girls will be coached by Melissa White, Pike County; Willie Morgan, Selma; and Robb McGaughey, LAMP, administrative coach for both South teams.

The North boys’ coaches are Denton Johnson of Ramsay and Bret Waldrep of Covenant Christian. The South boys’ coaches are Shane Colquhoun of Loachapoka and Shumbe Hunter of Williamson.

The basketball all-star squads are made up of 15 rising seniors and feature several players who competed in state championship games in 2022. Five girls’ players on the North team played in the title games: Class 7A MVP Reniya Kelly and all-state tourney selection Alanah Spooner of state champion Hoover; Class 5A MVP Olivia Vandergriff of champion Guntersville; all-state tourney players Nyla Collier of 6A champion Hazel Green; Chloe Siegal of Class 4A champion Deshler; Kallie Tinker of Class 2A state champion Pisgah; and Cali Smallwood, daughter of the North all-star coach and a standout for 3A state runner-up Susan Moore.

The South squad features two starters from two-time 3A state champion Prattville Christian – state all-tourney pick Hannah Jones and CoCo Thomas. Others who played in Birmingham in the finals are McGill-Toolen Catholic’s Lindsay Cox (6A); Taylah Murph-Dowdell of Loachapoka (1A); Ella Vallas of St. Paul’s Episcopal (5A); Kaelyn Hall of St. James (4A); and Kendall Lacoste of University Charter School (1A). Six players who competed in Birmingham are on the boys’ squad, three on each team. For the North, 4A state tourney MVP Cade Phillips and ASWA Class 4A Player of the Year John Broom – both of champion Jacksonville; and 5A all-state tourney selection Kerrington Kiel of 5A runner-up Ramsay. The South squad features Jaden Nixon who started for the 2021 state champ and 2022 semifinalist Autaugaville and two from 2A semifinalist Highland Home, Keldric Faulk and Terrin Brown.

The complete 2022 All-Star basketball rosters, with school, position and height:


Hope West, AP Brewer, G / F, 5-10

Tyla Tatum, Collinsville, G / F, 5-9

Chloe Siegel, Deshler, G, 5-7

Olivia Vandergriff, Guntersville, G, 5-9

Nyla Collier, Hazel Green, G, 5-8

April Hooks, Hewitt-Trussville, G, 5-8

Audreonia Benson, Hewitt-Trussville, G, 5-7

Reniya Kelly, Hoover, G, 5-7

Alanah Pooler, Hoover, C, 6-1

Ruthie Smith, Lauderdale County, C, 6-1

Jaylen Pleasant, Mortimer Jordan, PG, 5-4

Kallie Tinker, Pisgah, G, 5-4

Briley Merrill, Ranburne, PG, 5-11

Kennedy Langham, Sparkman, G, 5-8

Cali Smallwood, Susan Moore, G, 5-8


Destiny Johnson, Central, Phenix City, F, 6-1

Iyauna Gordy, Eufaula, G, 5-5

Kellyn Hunter, Faith Academy, P / G, 5-5

JoVala Ocean, Greenville, P / G, 5-2

Naomi Jones, Jackson, C, 6-3

Timya Thurman, Linden, C, 6-4

Taylah Murph-Dowdell, Loachapoka, P / G, 5-5

Khashya Richardson, Luverne, P / G, 5-4

Lindsey Cox, McGill-Toolen, G, 5-3

Lameria “CoCo” Thomas, Prattville Christian, F, 5-11

Hannah Jones, Prattville Christian, F, 6-2

Kaelyn Hall, Saint James, G, 5-7

Ella Vallas, St. Paul’s, F, 6-2

Emma Kate Smith, Trinity, G, 5-9

Kendall Lacoste, University Charter, P / G, 5-7


Paul Lanzi, Chelsea, G, 6-3

Jordyn Turner-Durley, Florence, G, 6-2

RJ Johnson, Grissom, W, 6-4

Drake James, Haleyville, G, 6-3

William Collins, Holy Spirit, F, 6-3

Jamari Arnold, Huntsville, G, 5-9

John Broom, Jacksonville, W, 6-4

Cade Phillips, Jacksonville, F, 6-9

Kyle Layton, Mountain Brook, G, 6-0

Alex Odam, Piedmont, G, 6-3

Kerrington Kiel, Ramsay, W, 6-6

Jacob St. Clair, Sand Rock, G, 6-2

Tyson Sexton, Scottsboro, G, 6-5

Zach Gray, Spain Park, W, 6-6

Win Miller, Vestavia Hills, G, 6-4


Jaden Nixon, Autaugaville, G, 6-4

Tyler Thomas, Cottage Hill, F, 6-6

Trent Thomas, Cottage Hill, F, 6-6

Thomas Dowd, Dothan, C, 6-7

Patrick Screws, Eufaula, C, 6-6

Tyler Mallory, Greenville, G, 5-7

Terrin Brown, Highland Home, F, 6-4

Keldric Faulk, Highland Home, F, 6-6

Jayron Merrill, Jackson, G, 6-3

Zidkijah Edmond, Jeff Davis, G, 6-0

Ketwan Reeves, Jeff Davis, G, 5-10

JaSaveion Moore, Loachapoka, G, 6-2

Antonio Jackson, Blount, G, 6-2

Johntarius Green, Montgomery Catholic, G, 6-0

Devyn Pearman, Smiths Station, G, 5-9

Leave a Comment