Area Archers Place in 2022 Indoor Archery Circuit

A 4-H’er takes a shot during the North Dakota 4-H Archery Indoor Championship. (NDSU photo)

BISMARCK, ND (NDSU Extension) – Teams from several counties took top honors at the 4-H Archery Indoor Championship held recently at the Nishu Bowmen Archery Complex in Bismarck.

The match is the culminating event for the winter indoor archery circuit. The circuit consists of six district matches with archers earning eligibility to participate in the state championship. The top two district scores for each archer are added to the score from the state championship to determine placing. Team placings are calculated on the scores of the top three archers of a county team of four in the championship match.

The match for beginner, junior and senior barebow archers consists of shooting 30 arrows at a 10-ring, 80-centimeter target at a distance of 15 yards. The maximum score for each arrow is 10 points with a maximum total score of 300 points. The number of 10s scored is used as a tie breaker.

The match for the freestyle bow division uses a five-ring, 40-centimeter target face or five-spot face option. The beginner and junior divisions shoot 15 arrows for a maximum score of five points for each arrow and 150 points for the match. The senior freestyle match is shot at a distance of 20 yards with 60 arrows. The maximum score is 300. The freestyle targets have an X ring in the middle of the target. The number of arrows to score in the X ring is used to break ties.

The McLean County team of Presley Thompson, Hoyt Carter, Brooklyn Smith and Jordi Keller captured first place in beginner barebow with a score of 2,146. The Dickey County team placed second with a score of 2,091. Team members are Louis Schmidt, Glynn Harper, Owen Bratlie and Evolecht Holt.

The top five individual beginner barebow placings were:

  • First – Louis Schmidt, Dickey County, 797
  • Second – Presley Thompson, McLean County, 787
  • Third – Hoyt Carter, McLean County, 756
  • Fourth – Kaydee Ceynar, McKenzie County, 747
  • Fifth – Emmy Keicker, LaMoure County, 738

The Morton County team of Haidyn Mosset, Odessa Veith, Jack Bargmann and Kinzy Roeder placed first in the beginner freestyle with a score of 1,214. The Ward County team placed second with a score of 1,157. Team members were Tyson Purdue, Quade Everson, Grady Mostad and Blake Guritz.

The top five individual beginner freestyle placings were:

  • First – Levi Keith, Hettinger County, 432
  • Second – Haidyn Mosset, Morton County, 416
  • Third – Louis Schmidt, Dickey County, 415
  • Fourth – Odessa Veith, Morton County, 414
  • Fifth – Tyson Purdue, Ward County, 412

The junior barebow team from Dickey County placed first with a score of 2,362. Team members are Michaela Bierman, Walker Miller, Drew Thorpe and Madaline Thorpe. The McLean County team of Bella Wimer, Molly Jochim, Braelyn Smith and Kaylee Magandy captured second place, scoring 2,319.

The top five individual junior barebow placings were:

  • First – Bethany Parsons, Traill County, 798
  • Second – Michaela Bierman, Dickey County, 785
  • Third – Bella Wimer, McLean County, 793
  • Fourth – Walker Miller, Dickey County, 785
  • Fifth – Alyssa Brummund, Lamoure County, 782

The junior freestyle team of Landon Mosset, Zoe Peterson, James McGarth and Tanner Frieze from Morton County scored 1,333 for first place. Pierce County team of Aliyah Williams, Luke Arnston, Raegan Hager and Jaxon Heilman placed second with a score of 1,255.

The top five individual junior freestyle placings were:

  • First – Abigail Ferguson, Williams County, 448 with 20 arrows in the X ring
  • Second – Landon Mosset, Morton County, 448 11 arrows in the X ring
  • Third – Zoe Peterson, Morton County, 447
  • Fourth – James McGarth, Morton County, 438
  • Fifth – Beau Keith, Hettinger County, 428

The Dickey County senior barebow team of Shelby Miller, Jaden Henning, Paige Henningson and Madison Anliker placed first with a score of 2,390. The Hettinger County team of Sydney Steiner, Kadence Reindel, Megan Monke and Katie Schmidt finished second with a score of 2,370.

The top five individual senior barebow placings were:

  • First – Sydney Steiner, Hettinger County, 853
  • Second – Allee Boyer, LaMoure County, 816
  • Third – Sarah Potts, Ward County, 813
  • Fourth – Ryan Pingel, McKenzie County, 805
  • Fifth – Shelby Miller, Dickey County, 804

The senior freestyle Morton County I team placed first with a score of 2,662. Team members were Bennet Schuler, Kendra Boehm, Hatley Hetleved and Ellie Bargmann. Second place was captured by the Morton County II team with a score of 2,551.

The top five individual senior freestyle placings were:

  • First – Bennett Schuler, Morton County, 899
  • Second – Jorn Brose, Ward County, 895
  • Third – Kendra Boehm, Morton County, 888
  • Fourth – Trace Christ, Stutsman County, 878
  • Fifth – Hatley Hetleved, Morton County, 875

The masters senior freestyle division is for youth who have already qualified for or attended the 4-H National Championships and are not eligible for program competition. Tyler Brusseau of Stark-Billings County won first place with a perfect score of 900. Other winners in this division were:

  • Second – William Schmidt, Hettinger County, 888
  • Third – Jake Ceynar, McKenzie County, 887
  • Fourth – Taik Larsen, Stark-Billings, 874
  • Fifth – Clay Ceynar, McKenzie County, 826

Shooting sports is sponsored by Scheels, a supporter of the North Dakota 4-H Foundation.

Leave a Comment