FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022 – When is it, host city, groups, schedule, tickets, how to watch in Australia

Australia will be aiming to put on a show as the host nation for this year’s FIBA ​​Women’s Basketball World Cup.

Here’s everything you need to know about the upcoming tournament.

When is the Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022?

This year’s World Cup is a fairly condensed tournament, taking place between September 22 – October 1, 2022.

Group matches will run up until September 27, before the final phase begins on September 29.

Where is the Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022?

Australia is the host nation, with all games to take place in Sydney.

Matches will be split between the Sydney SuperDome and Sydney Olympic Park Sports Center, with all finals held at the larger capacity SuperDome.

How to watch the Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022 in Australia

Specific broadcast details have not yet been released for the tournament.

The Women’s National Basketball League (WNBL) 2021/22 season was broadcast on Fox Sports and Kayo Sports, so a similar arrangement is likely for the upcoming World Cup.

Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022 groups

The 2022 tournament is split into two groups: Group A and Group B.

Each group contains six nations, with a draw at the completion of the group stage to determine the quarter-final matchups.

Group A includes Belgium, China, Bosnia and Herzegovina, South Korea, the United States, and a yet-to-be-determined replacement for Russia (following their removal).

Australia feature in Group B alongside France, Serbia, Japan, Nigeria, and Canada.

Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022 fixtures and schedule

Australia’s fixtures for the group stage are as follows:

Game Opponent Time (AEST) Venue
1 France 8:30 pm Sydney Superdome
2 Nigeria 8:30 pm Sydney Superdome
3 Serbia 6:00 pm Sydney Superdome
4 Canada 8:30 pm Syndey Superdome
5 Japan 8:30 pm Syndey Superdome

The full game schedule for the tournament can be found here.

Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022 betting odds

Odds are yet to be made available for the tournament.

Past Women’s Basketball World Cup champions

There have been 18 editions of the Women’s Basketball World Cup, with the United States, unsurprisingly, the most successful nation.

Australia last won the World Cup in 2006, finishing in second place in 2018.

Year Champion Runner-up
1953 United States Chile
1957 United States Soviet Union
1959 Soviet Union Bulgaria
1964 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia
1967 Soviet Union South Korea
1971 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia
1975 Soviet Union Japan
1979 United States South Korea
1983 Soviet Union United States
1986 United States Soviet Union
1990 United States Yugoslavia
1994 Brazil China
1998 United States Russia
2002 United States Russia
2006 Australia Russia
2010 United States Czech Republic
2014 United States Spain
2018 United States Australia

Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022 tickets

There are a number of ticket options for fans looking to attend this year’s World Cup.

From day passes during the group stage to premium experiences for those looking to splash out, there are options for everyone.

Tickets are on sale now and can be purchased here.

Leave a Comment