Super Round news, lineups, injuries, how to watch, Stan Sport

Friday’s Super Rugby Pacific clash between the Western Force and Moana Pasifika has been postponed due to a COVID-19 outbreak in the Force squad.

The competition’s medical advisory group made the decision which means Moana Pasifika has now had four games postponed due to the virus in their debut season.

“The Western Force has medically reported significant numbers of COVID-19 cases within the squad, which under Rugby Australia protocols means they are not available for selection,” Force chief executive Tony Lewis said.

Watch every game of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific and Super W seasons, streaming ad free, live and on demand only on Stan Sport. Sign up for your free seven day trial!

Hooper catches Force napping

“We have worked closely with Rugby Australia High Performance to firstly protect the integrity of the Western Force club and Super Rugby Pacific.

“We have made every effort possible to assist in making this game go ahead. Despite looking at multiple player replacement options, the number of players affected is simply too great.

“We’d like to thank Moana Pasifika for their understanding, and we look forward to meeting them at a later date.”

READ MORE: Aaron Smith’s explosive accusation after loss

READ MORE: Ugly rugby tactic shunned by fun loving Chiefs

READ MORE: Dejected Reds skipper makes blunt admission

Meanwhile, the Reds have suffered a major blow with the loss of star five-eighth James O’Connor for at least a month with a knee injury.

Young Lawson Creighton will instead make his starting debut against the Hurricanes in Melbourne on Saturday.

The Reds are also without fullback Jordan Petaia (hamstring).

“Trans-Tasman was a tough ride last year against the New Zealanders,” Reds coach Brad Thorn said.

“The challenge will be in front of us again this year. It starts with the Hurricanes and we’re looking forward to a tough match.”


WARNING (15-1): Will Harrison, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Izaia Perese, Jamie Roberts, Alex Newsome, Tane Edmed, Jake Gordon (c), Will Harris, Michael Hooper, Charlie Gamble, Hugh Sinclair, Jed Holloway, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Dave Porecki, Angus Bell

Reserves: Tom Horton, Te Tera Faulkner, Archer Holz, Geoffrey Cridge, Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, Jack Grant, Ben Donaldson, Dylan Pietsch

CHIEFS (15-1): Chase Tiatia, Jonah Lowe, Alex Nankivell, Rameka Poihipi, Quinn Tupaea, Bryn Gatland, Cortez Ratima, Pita Gus Sowakula, Sam Cane (c), Luke Jacobson, Tupou Vaa’i, Josh Lord, Angus Ta’avao, Samisoni Taukei ‘ aho, Aidan Ross

Reserves: Bradley Slater, Ollie Norris, George Dyer, Naitoa Ah Kuoi, Samipeni Finau, Xavier Roe, Rivez Reihana, Inga Finau

Drua’s spine-tingling Na Bole challenge

DRUA vs BLUES, Saturday 5.05pm AEST

DRUA (15-1): Kitione Taliga, Tuidraki Samusamuvodre, Kalaveti Ravouvou, Caleb Muntz, Onisi Ratave, Simione Kuruvoli, Peni Matawalu, Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta, Rusiate Nasove, Meli Derenalagi (c), Viliame Rarasea, Chris Minimbi, Manasa Saulo, Meseli

Reserves: Zuriel Togiatama, Timoci Sauvoli, Jone Koroiduadua, Isoa Nasilasila, Joseva Tamani, Leone Nawai, Jona Mataiciwa, Frank Lomani


Hurricanes carve up the Highlanders

REDS vs HURRICANES, Sunday 7.45pm AEST

REDS (15-1): Jock Campbell, Suliasi Vunivalu, Hunter Paisami, Hamish Stewart, Filipo Daugunu, Lawson Creighton, Tate McDermott (c), Harry Wilson, Fraser McReight, Connor Vest, Angus Blyth, Ryan Smith, Taniela Tupou, Richie Asiata, Harry Hooper

Reserves: Matt Faessler, Dane Zander, Feao Photo Time, Lopeti Faifua, Angus Scott-Young, Kalani Thomas, Josh Flook, Mac Grealy


Highlanders denied match-winning try


BRUMBIES (15-1): Tom Wright, Cam Clark, Len Ikitau, Irae Simone, Andy Muirhead, Noah Lolesio, Nic White (c), Pete Samu, Jahrome Brown, Rob Valetini, Cadeyrn Neville, Darcy Swain, Sefo Kautai, Lachlan Lonergan, Scott Sio

Reserves: Folau Fainga’a, James Slipper, Tom Ross, Tom Hooper, Luke Reimer, Ryan Lonergan, Rod Iona, Hudson Creighton



REBELS (15-1): Reece Hodge, George Worth, Andrew Kellaway, Stacey Ili, Glen Vaihu, Matt To’omua, James Tuttle, Michael Wells (c), Brad Wilkin, Rob Leota, Josh Hill, Matt Philip, Cabous Eloff, James Hanson, Cameron Orr

Reserves: Efi Ma’afu, Matt Gibbon, Rhys van Nek, Josh Canham, Tamati Ioane, Sam Wallis, Joe Powell, Carter Gordon


For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from the Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Leave a Comment